TWAS-SN Bose PhD Fellowship Programme, 2016-2017

TWAS-SN Bose PhD Fellowship Programme, 2016-2017

Sponsored Links

Applications are invited for TWAS-SN PhD Fellowship Programme available for foreign scholars from developing country other than India. Fellowships are awarded in the field of physical sciences.

The aim of the TWAS-SN Bose Fellowship Programme is to enable and encourage academically able students from developing countries.

With the world’s largest South-South PhD and post-doctoral research fellowship programme, TWAS helps early-career researchers to gain education and experience at top global science institutions.

Applicants must hold a Master’s degree in physics, mathematics or physical chemistry.

Course Level: Fellowships are available to pursue research towards a PhD.

Study Subject: Fellowships are awarded in the field of physical sciences:

List of Subjects: Engineering Sciences, Astronomy, Space and Earth Sciences, Mathematical Sciences and Physics

Scholarship Award: S.N. Bose will provide a monthly stipend to cover living costs and food. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency. Free on-campus accommodation will be provided. The monthly stipend does not cover comprehensive health insurance.  The Centre does, however, deduct a small contribution towards a Contributory Medical Scheme. The benefits are partial reimbursement of Doctor’s fees, medicines and/or hospitalisation costs if any, and only for costs incurred in Kolkata. The reimbursement structure is along the lines of the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) of the Government of India.

Scholarship can be taken in India

Eligibility: Candidates for these fellowships must meet the following criteria

  • Be a maximum age of 35 years on 31 December of the application year
  • Be nationals of a developing country (other than India)
  • Must not hold any visa for temporary or permanent residency in India or any developed country
  • Hold a Master’s degree in physics, mathematics or physical chemistry
  • Be accepted by a department of the S.N. Bose National Centre. Requests for acceptance must be directed to the Dean (Academic Programme), S.N. Bose National Centre for Sciences by e-mail) applicants must accompany their request for an Acceptance Letter with copy of their CV, a research proposal outline and two reference letters
  • Provide evidence of proficiency in English, if the medium of education was not English
  • Provide evidence that s/he will return to her/his home country on completion of the fellowship
  • Not take up other assignments during the period of her/his fellowship
  • Be financially responsible for any accompanying family members

Nationality: Citizens from a developing country (other than India) can apply for this postgraduate fellowship programme:

List of Countries: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe

College Admission Requirement

Entrance Requirement: Applicants must hold a Master’s degree in physics, mathematics or physical chemistry.

Test Requirement: No

English Language Requirements: Applicants from outside the home country will often need to meet specific English language/other language requirements in order to be able to study there.